Art Appreciation // Peter Anton

Art, Pretty Things

I never carved out the time to read that The Five Languages of Love book, mostly because it sounds awful but also because I am self-aware enough to already know that my love language is food. (That’s one of the options, right?)

So when I happened upon this glorious piece by Peter Anton while exploring in San Francisco, it spoke to me.

I probably wasn't supposed to take this picture. But that's me, living life on the edge.

Peter Anton makes mixed media sculptures of food- namely chocolates, donuts, pastries, ice cream bars and other sweets. There’s really no way to accurately communicate the brilliance of his artwork without seeing it in person. The textures and colors are so lifelike, the works in person are like looking at the actual food under a microscope. The teeth marks in the chocolates, the syrup pooled in the bottom, the way the chocolate is cracked around the bite mark- they’re so realistic that you almost expect them to smell like the real thing. I thought it was too incredible not to share.

Here are some of his other pieces (from his website):

BOXED DONUTS

BOXED DONUTS, 2011

DARK CHOCOLATE ICE CREAM BAR

DARK CHOCOLATE ICE CREAM BAR

STAR SELECTION, 2011

STAR SELECTION, 2011

And now I need to go find some chocolates.

Leave a Reply

