Yuckies Be Gone

DIY, Health, Motherhood

Parenthood is so giving. It has given us so much love; so much happiness; so much excitement; Legos. So, so many Legos. It has also given us germs. Lots and lots of germs.

With school back in session and the germ-sharing in full swing, I thought I’d share a few of my favorite all-natural remedies for both every day use and keeping the ickies away.
All of these can be used for kids and adults.

1. Oil of Oregano
3605

Oil of oregano is my best friend during cold and flu season. It is an extremely powerful (nature made!) antibiotic and is known for everything from it’s immune-boosting properties to it’s ability to help clear acne, treat yeast infections and knock out GI infections. (All the most fun things in life, really).

To stop a cold in it’s tracks, put a few drops of oregano oil in juice and take it twice a day. For preventative care, dilute a drop of oregano oil in 1/2 tsp of olive oil and rub on your little one’s heels before they put their socks on in the mornings. (They might smell a little like a pizza but a pizza child is better than a sick one.)

2. Lavender Oil3575Lavender oil has antibacterial, antifungal and antiviral properties. A quick google search will tell you that you can use lavender oil for practically everything. I most commonly use it to make relaxing bath soaks for my kids and as a topical treatment for sunburns, cuts and scrapes. It also works great on winter-chapped skin and eczema spots. You can dab a bit on your wrists before bed after a long day to help you unwind. And here’s a great recipe to make your own lavender oil hand sanitzer.

3. Apple Cider Vinegaracv

Vinegar is extremely effective at killing bacteria and viruses. You can use it to deodorize stinky clothes (mix white vinegar and water and spray on stinky garments before washing) and it makes a great cleaner for practically every surface in your house. I make my own cleaner for our wood floors using one cup of plain white vinegar and four cups of water in a spray bottle (sometimes I add a few drops of lavender) and a couple of things:
1) I swear to you it works better than anything I have bought in the store- no overpowering artificial smells, no sticky residue, no streaks and it’s anti-bacterial.
2) You know what you’re cleaning your floor with. If I can’t keep my kids from sometimes eating things off the floor, at least I can know exactly what’s in the things I use to clean my floor and that it won’t hurt them.

Vinegar taken orally also has loads of health benefits. It has been proven to strengthen the immune system, normalize intestinal bacteria and prevent candida. Lately I’ve been taking two tablespoons 3x a day. It has made a noticeable difference in my energy levels. When taking vinegar as a supplement, it is important to buy organic, raw, unfiltered apple cider vinegar (I like Bragg’s).

// All of these things can generally be found in your local health food store, and if not, they are easily purchased online. Oil of oregano tends to be a little pricey but you only use a few drops at a time, so one bottle will last quite a while.

If you have any magic potions for keeping well, please share, I’d love to hear!

Leave a Reply

