Give Me All the Wallpaper

Art, Home Decor

It’s baaaaack! Wallpaper is going through a big revival right now. I’m seeing it everywhere from bars to dressing rooms to design blogs. Plus, when they sell it at Anthropologie, you know it’s a “thing”.

I’ve been trying to come up with ways to bring some life to our powder room downstairs for a while now. Bathrooms can be tough to decorate beyond an accent rug and some pictures on the wall (if you have the wall space) and funky hand towels only go so far. It didn’t hit me until the other night that wallpaper was the answer I’d been looking for. A little Google work yielded some fantastic results, and now I want to wallpaper every possible surface in my home, nothing excepted.

FYI- Design*Sponge has compiled a great list of wallpaper sources if you’re in the market.

Here, I share my favorite picks from my favorite spots. (Clicking the pictures will take you to the websites)

// 1.  House of Hackney

peoneden-wallpaper-midnight

This peony-rose print feels so old-fashioned and yet so current at the same time.

hackney-empire-wallpaper-midnight

Get it? They’re party animals. I will never love anything more than this wallpaper. THE BADGER IS DRINKING A PIÑA COLADA.

flights-of-fancy-wallpaper_grey_1

I guess if you don’t want to explain to your preschooler what a “hookah” is or lie when he asks “What’s the raccoon drinking?” because you bought that last wallpaper, then you could get this one. It’s okay.

// 2. Hygge & West

It's Rifle Paper Co. Obviously I love it.

It’s Rifle Paper Co. Obviously I love it.

This is so beautiful. I love pretty things that you can also use as learning tools. Imagine how fun it would be teach your kid about the Sydney Opera House while he's sitting on the toilet! ...Right?! Well anyway. It's beautiful.

This is so beautiful. I love pretty things that you can also use as learning tools. Imagine how fun it would be teach your kid about the Sydney Opera House while he’s sitting on the toilet! …Right?! Well anyway. It’s beautiful.

I love the pineapples. My husband already said no. It's going on my list anyway.

I love the pineapples. My husband already said no. It’s going on my list anyway.

// 3. Cole & Son

So light and airy.

So light and airy.

Too bad we live in the Northwest and not the Southest. Otherwise, this bad boy would be mine.

Too bad we live in the Northwest and not the Southeast. Otherwise, this bad boy would be mine.

This wallpaper is incredible. Something about the skeleton keys hanging from the leaves would make me feel like I was in a storybook.

This wallpaper is incredible. Something about the skeleton keys hidden in the leaves would make me feel like I was in a storybook.

Honorable mentions:

This would never in a million years work anywhere in my house buuuut it does have bananas on it aaaand it's scented. So I'd appreciate it if someone I know could buy this wallpaper so I can come over and smell and admire your walls. Thanks.

This would never in a million years work anywhere in my house buuuut it does have bananas on it aaaand it’s scented. So I’d appreciate it if someone I know could buy this wallpaper so I can come over and smell and admire your walls. Thanks.

I love how at first glance this looks like any traditional wallpaper, but it's actually made of Andy Warhol's rorschach paintings. Andy was my first real art interest, so this would be amazing if your house could swing it.

I love how at first glance this looks like any traditional wallpaper, but it’s actually made of Andy Warhol’s rorschach paintings.

Have you seen some to-die-for papers lately? Share!

2 thoughts on “Give Me All the Wallpaper

Leave a Reply

